Shri Sarbananda Sonowal
Hon'ble Chief Minister

Shri Naba Kumar Doley
Hon'ble Minister, P&RD

Rural Development Schemes

Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Gurantee Act

The Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Gurantee Act, 2005 (MGNREGA) was notified on September 7, 2005. The mandate of the act is to provide at least 100 days of guranteed wage employment in a financial year to every rural household whose adult members volunteer to do unskilled manual work.

  1. Social protection for the most vulnerable people living in rural India by providing employment opportunities
  2. Livelihood security for the poor through creation of durable assets, improved water security, soil conservation and higher land productivity
  3. Drought-proofing and flood management in rural India
  4. Empowerment of the socially disadvantaged, especially women, Scheduled Castes (SCs) and Schedules Tribes (STs), through the processes of a rights-based legislation
  5. Strengthening decentralised, participatory planning through convergence of various anti-poverty and livelihoods initiatives
  6. Deepening democracy at the grass-roots by strengthening Panchayati Raj Institutions
  7. Effecting greater transparency and accountability in governance
Thus, MGNREGA is a powerful instrument for ensuring inclusive growth in rural India through its impact on social protection, livelihood security and democratic empowerment.

Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana - Gramin (PMAY-G) [formerly Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY)]

Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana - Gramin (PMAY-G) [formerly Indira Awaas Yojana (IAY), a flagship scheme of the Ministry of Rural Development has since inception been providing assistance to BPL families who are either houseless or having inadequate housing facilities for constructing a safe and durable shelter. This effort has been part of a larger strategy of the Ministry’s poverty eradication effort, supporting the development of an environmentally sound habitat with adequate provisions for incremental expansion and improvement.

Eligibility and selection
When the scheme was called Indira Awaas Yojana, the beneficiaries were selected from the BPL List of the BPL Census 2002. From 2016-17, beneficiaries will be selected taking SECC 2011 as the base data. The selection process will follow an elaborate six step process.

  • Preparing the list of Eligible Beneficiaries
  • Prioritization of Beneficiaries within the list
  • Verification of Priority List by Gaon Sabha
  • Grievance redressal by Appellate Committee
  • Publication of Final Priority List
  • Preparation of Annual Select Lists

An amount of Rs 1.30 lakh will be provided to beneficiaries as unit assistance.

National Social Assistance Programme

National Social Assistance Programme is a set of 5 (five) welfare/pension schemes. They are:-

  1. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme
  2. Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme
  3. Indira Gandhi National Disable Pension Scheme
  4. National Family Benefit Scheme
  5. Annapurna

Designed, developed and mantained by Commissionarate Panchayat and Rural Development, Assam